Skip to content

Hamantaschen! Bless you.

March 6, 2011

It’s a joke.  Please do not be offended.

This year Purim is March 19-20 and is a holiday celebrated by the Jewish Culture.  In summary, Purim is a celebration of triumph over oppression. (Holidays.net).

However, this is not a history lesson, it is an excuse to make Hamantaschen.

I found so many recipes from Smitten Kitchen to the New York Times, and this one at Chabad.org.  I picked this one because it says:  “Place all ingredients in a large mixer bowl and beat together.”  I like the quick fix.  I placed all the ingredients into my mixer and gave it a dubious look.  I was not a believer being so used to creaming sugar and butter first. Then I turned on the mixer.  I had to scrape the paddle clean every once in a while, but it worked like a dream.

Easy-peesy dough

One of the many comments I read stated refrigerating the dough makes it easier to work with, so I divided it in four portions, put three in the fridge and started rolling out.  It was easy enough to work with and do not think refrigeration is necessary, but can be done if time is an issue. Mixing the dough is very simple, but cutting, filling, folding does take a little time.

To make the round circles I used a funnel, it was about 2 inches across.

If it is too small of a circle, it will not fold and make the triangle shape, if it’s too big, I won’t make as many. Who doesn’t want a lot of cookies?  Traditionally, the cookies are filled with poppy-seeds or prune jam.  I like to try to cook or bake with what I already have, so I made filling with dried apricots soaked in amaretto and dried Cranberries in homemade vanilla extract and amaretto and finally caramel sauce.  The fruit fillings worked great, but the caramel was a big fail and did not taste good.  I placed about a teaspoon in the middle of each circle.

Apricot Filling

 

To fold, lift one side up towards middle,

Fold one side

repeat with other side

folding other side

and the 3rd side will rise as well.

These have caramel, they failed! Oozed all over and tasted off.

 

I pinched the corners really well.  Once all 12 were on the baking sheet, I pinched again.   I might have even pinched one more time before putting them in the oven to bake.  The recipe said to bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees F, but I found 15 minutes was plenty and less once my cookie stone was hot.  I wish they were more golden brown, but everyone loves them.  I can see a lot of other uses for the very easy dough.

Tasty Hamantashen from Chabad.org

Ingredients:

4 cups flour
4 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup margarine, softened
1 Tbsp. Orange juice (I had a carton, so used that)
2 tsps. Baking powder
1 tsp. Vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
1 tsp. Orange rind ( I used lemon zest)

Preheat oven to 350°.

Grease cookie sheets.

Place all ingredients in a large mixer bowl and beat together. You may add a drop more juice or flour, depending on consistency of dough. Roll dough into a ball. Divide into four parts.

For apricot filling:

6 oz of dried apricots

Amaretto to cover

Chop up apricots and allow them to soak in amaretto for a minimum of an hour. Add a splash of orange juice if too dry.

For Cranberry Filling:

1/2 c of crasins

Amaretto to cover half way

Vanilla extract (this takes a few months to cure, but I highly recommend making it) to cover other half

Roll dough out on a floured surface.  Cut circles about 2 -3 inches wide.  Place on greased cookie sheet.  Place about 1 teaspoon of filling on each circle and fold.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes.  Mine did not become golden brown, but you want to the cookie to stay soft and chewy.

Hamantaschen

If you do want  more of history lesson you can read these and many other sites:

http://www.chabad.org/holidays/purim/article_cdo/aid/653700/jewish/The-Secret-of-the-Hamantasch.htm

http://www.holidays.net/purim/

http://www.jewfaq.org/holiday9.htm

As always, thanks for reading!

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Shantelle permalink

    I made some of these last year for my women’s bible study group. Very good!

  2. Charity permalink

    Yum! I’m celebrating!

  3. Susan Brooks permalink

    Love these cookies! I’ve heard of them by a slightly different name…Haman’s Ears or something like that. Love anything w/ apricot filling. I hope to try your recipe some day. 🙂

  4. Howdy would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in
    3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?

    Thank you, I appreciate it!

  5. Hamburg, Berlin: Die BILD-Zeitung will die Alphabetisierungsquote
    unter Pegida-Demonstranten mit der Herausgabe eines Liederheftes steigern.

  6. Sicher gibt es Ausnahmen, aber im Allgemeinen gilt, dass ein gutes Hotel nicht billig sein kann.

  7. Die richtige Ernährung kann man lernen – wir unterstützen Sie dabei mit zertifizierten Kursangeboten aus dem Präventionsfeld – Ernährung.

Leave a comment