Skip to content

Shrimp Foil Packet

April 27, 2011

Several weeks ago I learned to make shrimp en papillote (cooked in paper) at my cooking class.  I came home and attempted to recreate the recipe.  It was an EPIC fail. We were all so sad, because the pockets were so beautiful and colorful, but the shrimp was raw and we tried to cook it more but it just did not work out.  Shortly after that I was reading my Daring Kitchen challenge and learning about ceviche.  Ceviche dishes are not cooked with heat, the acidity of the citrus foods cook the protein (source) I then realized why my shrimp did not work!  In our class, we prepared the packets of shrimp, veggies and added lemon.  The packets then sat for about 20 minutes while we prepared another dish.  Finally, we baked the packets for about 8 minutes.  The lemon juice was starting to “cook” the shrimp and I did not do that at home.  I made the pockets and immediately placed them in the oven.  Once I made this connection, I was eager to try making packets again, but I am lazy and did not want to mess with 4 individual parchment paper packets, so I made one large foil packet.  I allowed it to sit for about 15 minutes with lots of lemon juice squeezed on the shrimps.  I baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes and guess what??!!!  They were perfect!  So tasty.

Ingredients:

Shelled Shrimp (about 6-8 per person)

1-2 Garlic cloves smashed

1 tbls butter

pepper

red pepper cut into strips (or any veggie that you like)

2 lemons (for about 40 shrimp)

Basil to taste

Directions:

Place peppers on large sheet of foil, place shrimp on top.  Sprinkle garlic all over.  Season to preference (pepper, Mrs. Dash, Onions, etc).  Dice butter and place in 4 -5 spots along shrimp. Squeeze lemons along the shrimp and place lemon on top.  Seal foil tightly around all ingredients and place on cookie sheet or pan with sides.  Let sit for 10-30 minutes (no more than 4 hours).  Bake in oven for 8-12 minutes on 400 degrees.  You can serve with rice or noodles.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. romaine permalink

    NOW we’re talking – I’ve never been fond of chicken thighs (although your recipes sound scrumptious and tempting, but here in FLA, where fresh shrimp comes right off a boat, this recipe really appeals to me. I’d like to know how you made the parchment pockets, though. This would be a great addition to a grill while other things (crab legs/oysters) are also cooking out on the deck.

    I can’t wait to try this!

  2. Cheryl permalink

    Followed instructions perfectly and shrimp were still raw after 15 minutes. This recipe is flawed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

