Skip to content

Chicken Enchiladas

April 28, 2011

I made chicken enchiladas with chicken thighs.  I am so happy to have discovered chicken thighs.  The meat is very inexpensive, tasty and quite simple to make.  I buy packages with bones and skin.

Chicken Thighs and Enchilada Sauce in the crock pot...kind of nasty looking.

Chicken Enchiladas with Toasty Cheese

Chicken Enchiladas (serves 4 heaping portions, made about 10 enchiladas)

1 -2 pounds of chicken thighs

1 can of enchilada sauce

1 can of diced green chilis

10-12 corn tortillas

1/4 c of sour cream or plain yogurt (I used Chobani)

2 c of shredded mexi- cheese

Directions:

Cook the chicken thighs and enchilada sauce on low for 5-6 hours or high for 3-4 hours till meat is cooked and literally falling off the bone. Once chicken is cooked separate the meat from bones and skin.  Shred the meat and mix in green chiles and sour cream.  Place corn tortillas in a microwave safe dish with lid and 1-2 tsp of water and heat for about 30 seconds. Grease a 9×12 pan.  Fill each corn tortilla with the meat mixture and fold over.  Hopefully the tortilla is soft enough to not tear while folding.  Place in dish and repeat till full of stuffed tortillas.  Cover with foil and bake on 375 degrees F for 15 minutes.  Add cheese over the top and cook for another 5-8 minutes till cheese is nice and melted.  I actually turn the oven to broil and toast the top because I love love love toasty cheese.

I served this with corn and a salad.  I dipped my enchilada in Sriracha.  You could just add it to the meat mixture, but my daughters would object.

I put the leftover bones and skin back into the crock pot and let it simmer for another hour or so.  I am thinking (hoping) it will be a nice base for soup.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Kara Branham permalink

    I would love to make this for dinner tonight… can I use boneless chicken breasts (that’s what I have on hand)??? Also, I don’t have green chilis… are they a must? Is there something else, like bell peppers, I could substitute?

    Thanks for the post and dinner inspiration for tonight!!! Hopefully it will work out!!!

    • You could boil the chicken breasts on the stove top in 20 mins or use the crock pot. Either way will allow you to shred it.
      Yes, bell peppers will work. Are they frozen or raw/fresh? If fresh, roast under a broiler for 10-15 minutes and dice. That way the pepper will be a little softer. Of course, you can dice it and leave it as is. Happy to help you find a meal for dinner. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

