Skip to content

A Rachel Ray recipe

May 3, 2011

I watched 30 Minute Meals with Rachel Ray and she made a Monte Cristo Frittata. It looked so yummy and simple. I was thinking about when I would get the ingredients for the recipe when I realized I had all the necessary ingredients! We had made ham for my parents on Easter Sunday and had quite a bit leftover. This recipe was super easy to make and good one to get the kids involved!  They can crack the eggs, beat them and older ones can dice the turkey and ham.

The underside, so nice and brown

Monte Cristo Frittata adapted from Rachel Ray
Ingredients:
9 eggs
Cooked ham
Cooked turkey
Green onions
Salt and pepper to taste
Oil for pan
2 tbsp milk
Shredded cheese – whatever you have on hand that will compliment and melt
Skillet that is oven safe (I used a 15 inch skillet)

look at the eggs bubbling

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees f. Pre-heat pan and add oil. Dice ham and turkey. Add to skillet. Dice onions and add to pan. Meanwhile, crack eggs into bowl and whip with a splash of milk, salt and pepper to taste. Add eggs to skillet and cook on medium heat for 3-4 minutes till set on sides. Place skillet in oven and cook for 5 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top and bake for another 5 minutes or till cheese is melted.  I am also happy to report that leftovers heated in the microwave for 30-45 seconds is quite tasty! :)

Nice Slice

I am uber excited to know how to make a frittata.  I see me making one at least once a month, with onions, spinach, tomatoes, eggplant, red peppers, sausages or more, you get the idea.  Thank you Rachel Ray!!!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Kara Branham permalink

    This looks YUMMY!!! Aren’t monte cristos usually like a fried ham sandwich with raspberry sauce?? Would the raspberry work with this???

    • Yes! Monte Cristo is a fried sandwich with ham and turkey. I am thinking you could put a slice of the frittata place between 2 slices of challah bread or French toast and dip into raspberry jam or macerated berries. I added Sriracha to mine, but sweet would be fine!! Thanks for inspiring me….Frittata sandwich….yum!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

