Skip to content

Ginger Lime Dressing

June 24, 2011

I am looking for some great ways to spruce up lettuce, since I am eating 2 cups of veggies at lunch and dinner.  I have recently discovered how inexpensive fresh ginger is and how wonderful it tastes and smells.  Yesterday, I was searching for a recipe with ginger and lime since I had both of those in the refrigerator.   Recipe after recipe called for oil, honey or mayonnaise.  I was looking for a low fat and light dressing.  I threw caution to the wind and went to the lab (aka kitchen) and put together a dressing hoping it would turn out!

Ingredients:

1 lime

Fresh Ginger ( I used about 1 inch)

2 tbls of rice vinegar

3 cloves of raw garlic

black pepper

3 tbls of water

Agave Nectar (to taste)

I mixed all of the above together, mixed on a salad with green leaf lettuce, red peppers, yellow peppers and shredded carrots.  The results?  THE dressing was FABULOUS!!!!  I hated lettuce the day before.  I am now in love with it again.  My 11 and 7 year old both enjoyed it.  Play with the ingredients.  Taste as you go along to decide how much more you need.  The garlic gave it a nice spice, but could be toned down if desired.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Dawn permalink

    Tried this yesterday for a neighborhood party…it was WONDERFUL!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

