Skip to content

My First Daring Kitchen Challenge

February 14, 2011

So, I have been writing and editing several posts and hesitating to go live.  I am not sure why.  I even spoke to my father about it.  Feeling uncertain about my blog name (is it narcissistic?), is the site perfect, easy to navigate, etc. As we were talking about it, I was also telling him about how I made oil-free potato chips by parboiling the potatoes before baking.   At that point he drew the conclusion that my blog can be par-boiled.   It may not be perfect right from launch or cooked all the way through, but it will get there.

So, without further ado: I will go public today with my Daring Kitchen Challenge.  HUZZAH!!!

Many of you are familar with Daring Kitchen.  This month challenge was to make Tempura with a cold soba noodle salad.

I made 2 different tempura recipes.  One traditional and one with defatted peanut flour from Trader Joe’s.

Peanut Flour Tempura:

1/2 C Peanut Flour

2 T Cornstarch

1 Tsp Chili Powder (which was a tad too spicy, it does say extra hot chili powder on the bottle)

1/2 c +3 T Cold Water

I dredged baby carrots, cauliflower, and chicken in the batter and then we ran out.  Most of those we fried in a skillet with about 3 inches of Canola Oil.  The trick to a good crisp tempura (from my very in-depth research of cooking this once) is to make sure the oil is HOT.  Since we live in a brand new place, this meant we had to hire my daughter to fan the smoke detector.  It is much too sensistive.  Luckily, her fee was reasonable (dinner that night).

Some of the chicken I set aside and baked.  I assume that it by some strange food law means it is not really tempura, but it was delicious.

When we ran out of the Peanut Tempura, we mixed up the following recipe:

1/2 C All Purpose Flour

2 T Cornstarch

1 T oil

1/2 C of Ice Cold Water

1/2 t Baking soda

We dredged more chicken and parboiled yams sliced thin.   It took a long time and made a huge mess in my kitchen.  It was a lot of fun,but it will be a very long time that I fry foods again, if ever.  The final picture is Soba Noodles with green leaf lettuce, raw yellow peppers and various tempura.  Thanks for reading my first post.  Please feel free to leave a comment.

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Welcome to Daring Cooks and also the food blogosphere. Nice work on the challenge. Cooking lots of food is the sign of a generous cook.

  2. Steve permalink

    I agree with the commented. You are a generous cook.

  3. Found your blog through your commented on mine, thank you. Welcome to blogging, looks like you’re gonna do just fine 🙂 I started just 10 months ago and after 6 months of noting what I liked (and didn’t like) about other blogs, totally revamped it. It will always be a work in progress whether you are parboiled, marinating, or waiting to be frosted 😀 Blessings to you!

  4. Denise permalink

    Yum ! Can’t wait to try this. Congrats on the blog…..and enjoy the journey 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. small changes… « food by katherine

Leave a Reply

