Skip to content

NO oil Potato Chips!

February 14, 2011

I am in love with Bobby Flay right now.

Yesterday I watched one of his shows and they grilled sliced potoatoes that they had par boiled prior.  This morning I woke up totally inspiried.  I bet I can par boil potatoes (russet, Idaho, Sweet/Yam) and bake them in to chips and not use any oil.

I boiled the yams for about 15 minutes and the Russets for 10.  The yams were huge.  Immediately, I soaked them in cold water.  I removed them from the cold water bath and let them dry for about 20 minutes.  I started to slice them with my knife, but there were not as thin as I would like.  I pulled out my As Seen on TV, TITAN PEELER and started to make cuts or should I say peels.

 

Parboiled Potatoes and Titan Peeler

I heart this tool!

 

 

look how thin!

I baked the thin potatoes for about 15 mintues on 400 degrees with my oven on convect.  The chips came out crunchy and tasty.  I will repeat.
Ingredients:
Potatoes, any variety
Big ole Pot of Water
Seasonings to taste (salt, Garlic, Mrs. Dash, etc)
Let me know if you try this recipe and what kind of results you achieve.
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. this ia a tried and true favorite of mine. I use a mandolin to slice paper thin (Russ prefers thicker cut) and sometimes add cayenne pepper, brown sugar & cinnamon on sweet potatoes

  2. Brockway permalink

    Did you put the potatoes in water that was already boiling and cook them for 10 minutes? Most sites say to parboil potatoes, that you place them in room temperature water and then bring it to a boil.

Leave a Reply

