Skip to content

The iPad Started it

February 14, 2011

It started the night I got my iPad. What started, I guess the journey to having a food blog.  Well, maybe a few days later.  I can’t remember the exact date.  (yes, I said that!) I justified the iPad purchase to myself and my husband by using it as a cookbook.  Think of all the recipes I will have at my fingertips!! One of the first apps that I downloaded was the Allrecipes app.  Upon searching the app I  found an intriguing recipe called Uglies.  I was curious.  I love the name.  That was last September.  Since then I can’t count the number of times I have made the recipe.  I have modified the uglies to have a taco theme.  I am anxious to make them with eggs and sausage. They have so many possibilities of mixtures…oh the permutations are dancing through my head. I make them and flash freeze the uglies and have them on hand for a quick meal or to pack in a lunch.

Love that Toasty Cheese

Uglies Submitted by Food Seeker this is the link for the original version.  Photographed is my Taco Version and here is my recipe.

Taco Uglies

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 2 Tbsp of Taco Seasoning
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 can of refried beans
  • handful of jarred jalapeños
  • 8 oz of diced green chiles (mild, medium, or hot- you pick)
  • 2 Cans of Refrigerated biscuit dough (we actually used store brand crescent rolls smashed flat)
  • 1/2 c Mexi-Cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Lightly grease 12-16 muffin cups.
  2. In a large skillet or frying pan, cook ground beef till done.  Add Taco Seasoning and 1/2 cup of water.
  3. Add Green Chiles, Jalapeños, and Refried Beans to pan and cook till heated throughout.
  4. Roll out each biscuit on a floured surface so that each biscuit is 6 inches across. Put the biscuit in the muffin tin and fold up sides to create a cup shape. Fill each biscuit fill almost to the top with the meat mixture; top with cheddar cheese.
  5. Bake in preheated oven until biscuits are baked, cheese is melted and tops are golden brown, about 15 minutes.

I personally love anything with toasty cheese on top.  mmmmmmmm!!!

Here are some ideas for combinations:

  • Pizza Uglies
  • Ham, Egg Uglies
  • Taco Uglies
  • Veggie Uglies
  • Meatloaf Uglies

Let me know if you come up with other combinations and what your results were.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. That does sound like an interesting recipe. Sorry to hear about your issues with the challenge. I made kind of a zucchini bowl for my challenge and had plenty of issues with it too.

    I give you a +1 for creativity for using cooking to justify an ipad purchase. Maybe I will try that. I would be interested if you actually think it is good for recipes. I am thinking of moving most of my recipes to evernote and use that to access them anywhere.

  2. Sorry to hear about your problems but the uglies make up for it well done on the iPad LOL LOL.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  3. They sure do look very very yummy! 🙂

  4. Well, I’m seriously thinking about purchasing an iPad, and your idea of linking it to a cookbook is a great one 🙂
    Your “uglies” are not ugly at all, they’re yummy!

Leave a Reply

