Skip to content

“Waiter, is that Mascarpone on my pizza?”

February 16, 2011

Mascarpone Adventure Part 1:

I won’t keep you in suspense.  Yes, I used mascarpone as a pizza topping.  It was delicious. Not a low calorie pizza, but it was so yummy.  My kids liked this…so I think that gets high marks! I thought about it the next day and if my parents had served this pizza to me when I was a child I would have looked at them and said “its G-R— –E-E-N” (because of the pesto).  Glad my kids are adventurous.

I really want to try to make homemade cracker pizza crust. A few days ago I made this dough.

Dough Recipe 1 pound (or about 3 1/2 cups) high gluten flour
3/4 cup warm water
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 1/2 teaspoon active dry yeast
1 1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt

In a heavy-duty stand mixer (e.g., KitchenAid) fitted with dough hook, add the water, oil, yeast, salt, and sugar. Mix thoroughly until yeast has fully dissolved. Add flour and mix on low speed until all of the flour and water have mixed and a stiff dough ball forms, about 3 to 4 minutes. Stop mixing as soon as the dough ball forms as this type of dough should not be kneaded.
Place the dough ball into a large bowl and cover tightly with plastic wrap. Let the dough rise for 24 hours in the refrigerator before using. Please note that I cannot over-emphasize the importance of a 24-hour rising time since it is absolutely essential for the dough to develop its signature texture and, more importantly, its unique flavor! Do not skip this step!

One of my friends commented that the site really takes the pizza making seriously.  She is right. I do not have a sheeter nor do I think many homes do.

I got to use my dough hook for the Kitchen Aid for the first time EVER.  I have owned that appliance for over 12 years. The recipe stressed high glutton flour.  I had unbleached all purpose flour.  I say whatev! I mix it up and put in a bowl wrap tightly with plastic wrap and place on my deck.  It needs to rise for 24 hours.  I realize all too  late that I will not be home when the dough is done.  Oh well.  We let it sit for another day and I roll it out.

I used a fork and pierced the pizza all over.  Even my 10 year old asked what I was doing.  Not sure if she was referring to my piercing the pizza or me singing the  song That’s Amore as I prepared the pizza crust. Cliché?  I know!

I prebaked the pizza for 4 minutes on 400 degrees. I pierced it again as recommended, but did not think it had puffed up much.  For toppings I used store bought Pesto, THE MASCARPONE , from earlier a little mozzarella, turkey pepperoni (I meant to buy pepperoni, but grabbed the turkey pepperoni on accident and did not tell anyone.  I think it was better, everyone agreed when I confessed.)

I added the toppings.  It turns out that I did not make the lip on the edge quite large enough and the pesto ran off the side and smoked up the oven which caused my smoke alarm to go off.  I promise I know how to cook, the alarms are sensitive.  The pizza was baked for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees.    My crust was not cracker-like texture, but not a crumb was left.  It was delicious!  Thanks for reading!

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

