Skip to content

Healthy Pork Green Chile (or Chili?)

February 17, 2011

Despite my earlier posts I am eating healthier that I have ever eaten in my life.  I had written all of those posts prior to changing my lifestyle and I believe everything in moderation is the key.  Recently I stumbled on BEST PORK GREEN CHILE recipe posted at SparkPeople.com  I happened to have all the ingredients on hand, so planned it for dinner the next night.  We had a snow day (where in Virginia snow is optional to cancel school) and I was a friend’s house all day.  I got home and made this recipe along with my frantic searching  for a new thickener in 45 minutes.

Adapted from Spark People submitted by OIL_FIELD_WIFE

Ingredients

  • 2.5  lb pork tenderloin, cubed
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp of cayenne pepper
  • 1 can whole tomatoes (with juices) (I quickly cut them in the can, nothing too pretty, but who cares)
  • 12 oz of mild green chili
  • 4  cups water
  • 1 egg yolk

Directions

Turn soup pan on and allow it to heat up.  Add onions, and cubed pork.  Cook till pork is browned on all edges.  I did not add any oil to my pan.

Add tomatoes, and chilies.  Meanwhile boil 4-6 cups of water or in microwave on another burner. Once water is boiling add 4-6 c of water soup pan. Less water, thicker chili. Bring to boil and reduce to simmer.

Take one egg yolk and beat in a bowl, remove some of the chile stock and let cool slightly, and add to egg yolk.  Then add entire yolk-stew mixture to chile.  This will help thicken the chile. Add tomatoes, and chilies.  Meanwhile boil 4-6 cups of water on another burner. Once water is boiling add 4-6 c of water soup pan. Less water, thicker chile.

To thicken the chile, the original recipe had me brown flour in a skillet and add it.  I did that, but I got lumps of flour floating in the stew!  IT WAS GROSS.  I know this was a user error.  Thankfully, I only put in a little to see if it would clump.  I spooned  out the sticky lumps and quickly looked up how to thicken it with flour.  I was pretty sure I need to dissolve the flour before adding it, but I found a site that listed  an egg yolk as a thickener.  An egg has  about 70 calories.  The one cup of flour has about at about 400 calories.  I think this was a great trade and it worked so much better, which was really my goal!  Spark People has the nutritional data listed, but I am not sure what the calorie count would be when omitting the flour.  I am assuming that using an egg yolk instead of flour would also help people avoid gluten.  I say I am assuming because I do not want to make any scientific claims.  I also realize that there is more fat in the egg yolk, but this made several servings. Can one egg yolk be a bad trade-off?  Let me know what you think!  I would love to hear from you.

Also, I am really confsued to what the correct spelling of chili or chile or chiles….OY!!!  I looked all over the web and found it spelled many ways.  I think I might have spelled it both ways throughout this post.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Adam L permalink

    I highly recommend adding cumin. A lot of it. I’d go use two teaspoons in that size batch, personally, but even one would be great. There is something missing to me if green chile has no cumin.

    The egg white thickener is very interesting. VERY interesting.

  2. Adam,
    Cumin would be good and as I sit here thinking about it, I forgot to mention that I added that to the Chicken Enchiladas. Thanks for all the support and reading.
    K

Leave a Reply

