Skip to content

Thai Food at Home!

February 19, 2011

I went to the store yesterday and saw Coconut Palm Sugar.

The ingredient that started it all....

I purchased it not knowing what I would make with it, except I knew it would be curry. Today, I researched for a recipe that called for the ingredient.
First, I found a lot of articles about desserts, one article asking if you could make caramel from it (still not sure what the answer was and wondered why the poster just didn’t try). I was not finding any entrees. Then I added the word curry to my search and found this recipe submitted by Trevorst

Simmering milk and mussamum curry

The recipe was clear and the instructions were fantastic.

Mussamum Curry (submitted by TREVORST, see link above)

Time 20 minutes Serves 4
Ingredients

1 cans Coconut Milk
1 1/2 tablespoon tablespoons mussamun curry paste store-bought or homemade (See my Mussamum curry paste recipe)
1 pound boneless chicken thighs or breasts cut into thin strips
1/2 large potato peeled and cut into bite-size chunks (about 1 1\2 cups)
1 carrot sliced in 1/4 width
1/2 medium onion halved lengthwise and sliced lengthwise into thick wedges
1/4 cup dry-roasted salted peanuts
2 cinnamon sticks each about 3 inches long
1 1/2 tablespoons fish sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons palm sugar or light or dark brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons tamarind liquid
1/8 teaspoon Salt
1 tablespoons Lime Juice fresh Squeezed
How to make it

In a large wok or Dutch oven, bring 1\2 cup of the thick coconut milk to a boil over medium-high heat.
Add the curry paste and cook about a minute, blending the paste into the coconut milk.
Add the chicken and cook for a couple of minutes, stirring often, until the chicken begins to change color.
Remove the chicken to a bowl and reserve.
Add all the remaining ingredients except lime juice and bring to a boil.
Reduce the heat to maintain a simmer and cook 15 to 20 minutes, until the potato and carrots are tender
add the chicken back to the pot and cook for 3 -4 minutes until cooked through.
Add 1 tablespoon lime juice and stir well. Taste and add more, if desired.
Remove from the heat and let stand 10 minutes.
Serve hot with Jasmin Rice

Here are a few simple changes  I made.  Cook the chicken in the empty pot till just browned and then set aside. I then added the chicken in at the end like the author mentioned. I used 3 medium Yukon Gold Potatoes and a handful of baby carrots. I also covered my dutch oven, not sure if it was necessary. I found Mussamum Curry paste at an asian market today (The H Market, for those in Northern Virginia) and it was very inexpensive. Everyone loved dinner tonight (even the picky 7 year old).  It had just the right amount of spice.  I spent about $15 for all of the ingredients, but only need to replace coconut milk and chicken to make about 3 more times.  Plus, we have enough leftover for either another dinner for all 4 of us, or lunches for my husband and I all week.  Much cheaper than eating out and I got to cook  it.  I was giddy the whole time I was preparing the recipe.  So tasty!

Ready to Eat!

Thanks for reading.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. We use coconut palm sugar for pretty much everything now, except when I make cookies for the kids. It works in baked goods or sprinkled on oatmeal in the morning, and is a better form of sugar since it is less refined (at least the stuff I found is).

    This recipe looks yummy, will have to try it as we love Thai food 🙂

  2. Hi Judy-
    The recipe was very simple and both of my daughters loved it. Let me know how it turns out.
    Thank you for reading.
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

