Skip to content

Another Pepper Recipe….

March 2, 2011

Poblano

Po-bllllllaaaaa- no

Poblano!

Roasted Poblano Pepper

I could just say that word over and over again.  I love that word.  I am a word nerd.  I love words that are fun to say.  Like squeegee and spatula and pants.  What are some of you favorite words?

Okay, now time for the food nerd….

I was looking for a recipe for Chile Rellenos.  I searched a lot.  A lot is so relative, it was about 30 minutes.    All the recipes were fried, which seemed odd to me.  I fell in love with non-fried ones at two different restaurants (one of out business and Barbacoa, in Boise, ID).  I reviewed the description of the Barbacoa Chile and went to work making my own.

As I was making the food, my 11-year-old daughter walked into the kitchen with her eyes closed.  She says to me “Don’t tell me what you are cooking.  I just want to taste it.” With her eyes closed she tastes the mole sauce.

Mole Sauce

I add oven baked sweet potato to the mole and ask her, with her eyes still closed, if the flavors work together.  She says yes with authority.  I adore her enthusiasm, encouragement, bravery and trust!  My stuffing concoction for the peppers is born! Shredded chicken, super simple and basic mole sauce, and baked sweet potatoes.

Shredded Chicken with Sweet Potato

I had roasted Anaheim, red, and Poblano peppers and stuffed them with the mixture.  Placed them back into the oven to heat them up again.  At first bite, I learn that saying Poblano is more fun then eating.  I am not a fan of Poblano peppers. However, the Anaheim pepper was fabulous! I wish I had bought and stuffed  more.

Roasted Pepper Chile Rellenos (easy)

Ingredients:

Anaheim, Poblano and Red Pepper, roasted under broiler for 8-10 mins once skins start to blister and char

3 Chicken Breasts, boiled for 20 minutes and shredded

1 large sweet potato baked at 350 degrees F for an hour

Mole Sauce (click for recipe)

Directions:

Slice the peppers lengthwise and seed.  Stuff as full as you want with the potato, chicken and mole sauce.  Place back in 350-400 degree f oven for about 20 minutes.  Serve with mole sauce on the side.  Enjoy!

Stuffed!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Charity permalink

    Sincerely… roll that one off your tongue.

  2. Susan Brooks permalink

    Love this post Katherine! I want to try this recipe too. 🙂
    The fact that you like the word pants cracks me the heck up. It is one of my favorites too. Oddly enough, a variation of it is my most hated word!

Leave a Reply

