Skip to content

Corner Bakery French Toast-LITE!

March 7, 2011

Have you ever been to a Corner Bakery?  It is a franchise that would most likely fall into the category of gourmet fast food.  I was really impressed with the food the first time we went at Union Station in DC.  A lot of variety, decent prices, made to order and tasty.  One of us ordered the French Toast.  It is  very rich and could not be finished in one sitting.  That is good, because today I  found out,  it has 1200 calories. (yikes, the first nutrition data I read said 500+ calories, as I do research and see Corner Bakery’s actual website I am shocked!) Had I read that first, I might not have made this recipe.  Its okay, I made it with fewer calories and I am not just saying that! The recipe above calls for 1 1/2 cups half and half and 1 cup cream.  I made mine with just 2% milk.  That makes a huge difference on the calories.  I should note that there are a lot of other options on the Corner Bakery menu that are a lot less caloric.  CB even calls their French Toast indulgent on the website.

The first recipe I found told me how to assemble it and bake it with a layer of plastic wrap and then foil on top.  I started surfing to see if you can really put plastic wrap in the oven.  I found this article at Amateur Gourmet from one of my most favorite blogs in the universe. Adam wrote (or should I say Mr. Roberts since I do not know him personally) that his plastic wrap melted and disappeared.  I read the post and the comments that followed.  There were very many opinions to whether plastic wrap can be used in oven, but I decided to not risk it.  I read that you can use parchment paper first and then foil wrapped tightly on top.

This was so good!  I ate an ounce.  Literally.  I measured  an ounce on my kitchen scale and ate it.  No syrup.  It was bliss.  It was more than bliss.   I immediately took more photos to blog about it. (Sadly, my camera batteries were dying, so the photos were not great).  The french toast is still hot.  I can still smell it.

TASTY!!!

Corner Bakery French Toast Lite (inspired by Corner Bakery and adapted from here and here.)

Ingredients:
1 loaf of cinnamon bread (I used Pepperidge Farm, but plan to bake my own next time).

2 1/2 c 2% milk

3 eggs

1/2 c sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon ( I did not measure, I just eyed it.  I want to TASTE the cinnamon)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract (totally forgot it, but it was still delightful)

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F. Spray pan 9 x 12 pan (or smaller, for thicker slices) with non-stick spray. Line bottom of pan with slices.  Cover pan completely.  Make another layer on top making pieces fit where needed, tear if necessary.  The whole loaf was used.  Beat eggs, milk, cinnamon and sugar till mixed.  Pour over bread.  Place a piece of measured parchment paper over the bread and smoosh the paper down, yes smoosh! Then wrap pan with foil tightly.  Place in oven for 40 minutes.  Remove cover and cook for another 10 minutes.  Let stand for 10 minutes (if you can, you are better than me).

When you remove the foil and parchment paper from the pan, the bread is all fluffy and poofy.  It looks so lite and tasty.

I used the recipe calculator at Spark People and figuring 8 servings, this as is has 246.5 calories.  I am going to try subbing the sugar for agave nectar, making a whole wheat cinnamon bread.  I would love to know if you make this and what you do to make it healthier.

toast and trees

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. This looks like a fun recipe. While I was reading it, I thought that it might be interesting to try it with un-frosted cinnamon rolls, instead of using the bread. I might give it a try this weekend. Great blog Katherine!

    • Oh! That sounds yummy. I am visualizing pecans and cinnamon. Just remember the double layer parchment and foil so it can poof up.

  2. Susan Brooks permalink

    Hey Katherine! Sounds like you’re having fun! I’m a huge fan of all things French Toast… if I were you, I’d skip trying it with Whole Wheat bread (either your own or a store brand). I have yet to find this anywhere near as appetizing as a white variety, sad to say. We are a wheat bread house, with the exception of French Toast. 🙂

  3. Susan, you will love this fresh toast. I got to tell you, I am now challenged to find a good whole wheat French toast recipe. 🙂 I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

