Skip to content

Please pass the brussel sprouts

March 8, 2011

I am 36 years old and prior to this weekend I had never eaten, touched or cooked  a brussel sprout before. They have a horrible reputation. I conducted a very scientific study and asked my loyal readers if I should make brussel sprouts. I had an impressive thirteen votes (I know this blog is so close to exploding!) 9 voted for yes, 3 voted no and 1 wondered why I was making you do a stupid poll.  I reluctantly purchased the dreaded brussel sprouts.  Guess what?  Brussel sprouts have a horrible reputation, but they have been maligned.  Seriously, when you say Brussel Sprout, what is the face most people make?

Here is how I prepared them:
I pulled off the outer layer trimmed the end mixed with salt and splash of olive oil, sliced in half and roasted them on 550 degrees F for about 15 minutes.
I had my girls sample them individually,  I did not want one influencing the other. The 11-year-old said “Yum, tastes like French fries.”  The 7-year-old said “Can I have more at dinner?”
My husband said “That is the best tasting brussel sprout I have ever eaten.”

Brussel sprouts  will be a new staple in our house.  In fact, I have now eaten them 3 times since Friday.  I think they taste like a cross between broccoli and cauliflower and have a nutty flavor.

roasted sprouts

I am perplexed to their horrible reputation.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. romaine permalink

    Makes me want to go out and grab some brussel sprouts!! The recipe is close to what I’ve done in the past, only with Garlic Salt. I bet just the sea salt is awesome!!

  2. Tastes like french fries? Sign me up!

  3. I love brussel sprouts…always have. I think their bad reputation comes from them being overcooked by SO many people. Think overcooked broccoli. Yuck. When done right these little cabbages are divine. I like mine roasted and tossed with crispy bacon. Oh yum.

    ps – I answered your lentil question on my blog. They Don’t need to be soaked…l just use them as is. 🙂 Enjoy!

  4. Wow! I’m going to try this! I have a bag of brussel sprouts in my freezer that I’d bought by mistake and didn’t know how to transform them into a yummy dish.

    Came by your blog from The Daring Kitchen. Welcome to VA! I live here too. Glad to find you in this blogosphere. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sweet and Sour Chicken « food by katherine

Leave a Reply

