Skip to content

Sweet and Sour Chicken

March 14, 2011

I do not like vegetables.

That was me. Through elementary school, middle school, high school, college,  my twenties AND most of my thirties.  I ate a few.  Broccoli, Cauliflower, brown sugar glazed carrots and lettuces.  That’s about it.  I would eat around the vegetable in my meal if it was mixed together.

Fast forward to current events and  I made Sweet and Sour Chicken with zucchini, red pepper, poblano pepper, and scallions.  I wanted seconds and I ate JUST THE VEGGIES.  I have come a long way. ( I also crave Brussel Sprouts)

I used Martha Stewart’s recipe for a guideline.  The more I cook, I read the directions and say “why do it that way?” and change it up as I go.  Martha’s recipe had ketchup and I just did not want ketchup in my sweet and sour tonight. (Remember, how I used to not like veggies? Well, I am not a huge fan of condiments either, ketchup is fair, hate yellow mustard and mayonnaise is just okay, but so not worth the calories).

Sweet and Sour Chicken (adapted from Martha Stewart)

Ingredients:

Veggies of you choice: I used red pepper, poblano pepper, zucchini and scallions. The more the merrier!

Chicken (about 1.5 pounds)

Soy Sauce

Corn Starch

Fresh or canned pineapple

Rice (optional)

My method:

I sliced one of each: zucchini, red bell pepper and poblano pepper.  I removed the seeds on all of them, even the zucchini*.  I chopped the scallions and set them all aside.

Prepped Veggies

I cubed the chicken and placed in a zipper bag.  In a small measuring cup I placed 1 tbls corn starch, 2 tbls soy sauce and 4 oz of water. I mixed till the cornstarch was dissolved.  I added that mixture to the chicken and let it sit all day in the fridge. I pre-heated the skillet so it was pretty hot with a tiny bit of oil add chicken, reduce heat to medium-high heat and browned all sides (let chicken sit in pan for 30-60 seconds before moving, if it sticks to pan it’s not ready to move) add peppers.  Cook the chicken for about 4 more minutes and add zucchini.  Cook for another 4 minutes  add chopped pineapple and scallions.  Cook till the pineapple is browned and warm. I generally use a lid to help keep the chicken moist.  Serve with rice.

I do not have a picture of my finished entrée.  I do have a picture of the very dirty skillet, but I do not think it will inspire you to make the recipe, even though the taste was worth the scrubbing.

 

 

*To seed a zucchini: Peel and slice lengthwise, then quarter.

Whole, Halved, Quartered

Hold knife at a 45 degree angle along the seed line (flat side down) and slice.  Most of the seeds will get cut off without losing too much of the vegetable.

Removing Seeds

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

