Skip to content

Breakfast Cake

March 16, 2011

On WordPress’s, which is my blog host, dashboard there is an option called “tag surfer”.  I am addicted to it.  It allows me to read other blogs that might be similar to mine.  I have found some really great ideas.  I recently read a post by Meb Byrne at Glitter Sleuth for called Vegan Blueberry Oat Cakes.  The picture was intriguing and I am always up for an oat recipe.  She found this from Love Veggies and Yoga.

The recipe is simple and fast.

The other evening I was not in a dinner mood and when I tell my kids we are having breakfast for dinner they jump for joy.  I decided to try this recipe with what I had on hand.

Raspberry Banana Oat

Oat Cake (inspired by Glitter Sleuth and Love Veggies and Yoga)

Ingredients: (made 4 heaping servings)

Splash of skim milk (or almond milk, coconut milk, etc)

1 – 2 cups of old-fashioned oats

2-3 ripe bananas ( I had some in the freezer, they worked really well after I defrosted them for about 90 seconds in the microwave)

Cinnamon (to your taste preference)

1 1/2 c fruit ( I used frozen raspberries)

Method:

Mash the banana in a microwave safe dish ( I used a mini deep dish stone from Pampered Chef)

Sprinkle Cinnamon and add oats and mix throughly

Fold in fruit as best as you can, it is a little sticky.  Add a splash of milk and microwave for 2 minutes.  Check how it looks, I added a splash more milk, just to cover the top layer thinly.  Microwave for 2-3 more minutes till hot.  Serve.

You can also sprinkle brown sugar, nuts, or other toppings as you wish.  This was a huge hit.  Another great use for ripe bananas!

Many thanks to Tag Surfer, Meb Byrne and Averie for this recipe.  YUM!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

