Skip to content

ANOTHER Corned Beef Recipe

March 17, 2011

I jumped on the band wagon.  I made corned beef for St. Patrick’s Day.  I could not resist after reading the history and how much Jewish culture was involved.

I bought a corn beef brisket at Wegman’s, which meant no brining for me.  That was good since I bought this March 16.

 

Raw Corn Beef with spices

 

 

I could not decide how to cook the brisket.  Should I simmer it on the stove, slow cook in the oven or use the crock pot.  I knew I wasn’t going to be home so I thought about cooking it last night and then slowly heating it up for this evening’s meal. As I was posting this corn beef dilemma on Facebook the answer hit me!  I will combine methods!  I love it when I come up with mad genius ideas in the kitchen.

 

 

Brown Sugar, Mustard, and Brisket

 

 

Brisket with Mustard-Brown Sugar rubbed in

 

 

 

 

Brisket in juice in crock pot

 

 

Broiling brisket

 

 

Corned Beef and Brussel Sprouts

 

 

 

Fork Tender

 

 

Corn Beef oven method via a crock pot

Ingredients (served 5):

2-3 pound corn beef brisket with seasonings in package

1 Tbls brown sugar

2 Tbls Dijon Mustard

Method:

Remove the meat from package and gently rinse the meat off being careful to not get raw meat juice all over the place.  Place brisket on top of large foil sheet and rub dry spices all over the meat covering as much as you can.  Flip meat over and run Dijon mustard over meat and sprinkle brown sugar on top and mash it in.  Wrap in foil allowing some space to steam.  ( I did this the night before because my morning was going to be crazy busy).  Place in crock pot and turn on low (or 350 degrees F) and cook for 4-5 hours.   Turn oven to broil and place a flat pan in oven to preheat.  Once oven and flat pan are preheated carefully remove hot cooked brisket from crock pot to oven and broil for about 5 mins each side (this helped carmalize the sides.  Remove from oven and let rest for 5 minutes.  Serve with juice in crock pot!

Thanks for reading.  I would love to hear how you made yours so I can continue to improve.  I am tempted to buy more of the corn beef brisket tomorrow because I know the stores do not carry this year round.  It was so delicious.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. BravoGolf permalink

    I love the mini cabbage!

  2. Dawn permalink

    Did you use the dry spices that came with the corned beef or did you make your own combination?

    • I used the dry spices that came with the meat. It was sooooooooo tasty. Thanks for reading, Dawn, it means a lot.

      • Dawn permalink

        I plan to make this either tomorrow or Tuesday…I’ll let you know how it turns out!

        • Dawn permalink

          Meat is rubbed and ready for the crockpot…will let you know the verdict later!

          • Dawn permalink

            DELICIOUS!! Scott took one bite, declared it as the best cb he’d ever had, and then focused all attn on his baked potato.

          • One bite!? Too funny. So flattered you tried the recipe. I am going to try wrapping other meat for crock pot cooking. Wonder if parchment paper would work…. Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

